Giethoorn and water villages

  • Type

  • Distance

    45.9 km
  • Period

  • Intersection

  • Places



Starting point

The route’s departure point is in Giethoorn water village, also called the ‘Venice of the North’. Wooden bridges, waterways and thatched cottages decorate the landscape. Its location in Weerribben-Wieden National Park is the perfect opportunity for a trip by the water. With routes right through the natural treasure trove of ditches, small ponds and lakes. Start your route in Giethoorn Noord on the cycling network from hub 60 towards hub 62. Then follow the hub numbers on the route description.

  1. Wieden vista

    Wieden vista

    The height of no less than 9 metres offers amazing views towards ‘t Eiland, with its patterns of ponds and islands formed by dredging peat. The many birds complete the vibrant scene.

  2. Watermills


    The little watermills throughout the landscape are fighting acidification: they are used to water the Rietkragge (reed belt), preserving the reeds for reed farming.

  3. Sint Jansklooster water tower

    Sint Jansklooster water tower

    The 46-metre high water tower in Sint Jansklooster showcases stunning views across the Weerribben-Wieden National Park. The ascent starts with an indoor staircase up to the first floor. Here, you will find yourself in a 24-metre high space and a spectacle of old and new staircases.

    Barsbeek 6, Sint Jansklooster

  4. Visitor Centre De Wieden

    Visitor Centre De Wieden

    This is the departure point for an excursion through nature. The centre is situated along a picturesque little street with historical peat cutter’s houses. The exhibition and film show you all you need to know about the protected area in this part of the Weerribben-Wieden National Park.

    Beulakerpad 1

  5. Jonen ferry

    Jonen ferry

    This ferry takes you across the water between hubs 52 and 51. The ferry sails from April until the end of October. Make sure to have some change handy for the trip! Operator service: April and October 10:00 - 17:30, May - September 09:00 - 19:00.